Overview

In November 2001, the Crowley City Council adopted Ordinance No. 01-694 calling a special election on the adoption of a sales and use tax pursuant to the provisions of Section 4B of the Development Corporation Act of 1979. An election was held in February 2002 where voters approved the additional tax. Following the election, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 03-2002-05, authorizing the creation of the Crowley Economic Development Corporation to act on behalf of the city to promote economic development. The Crowley EDC is a nonprofit, tax-exempt Texas Corporation, which is a separate entity from any other board or commission of the city of Crowley and is registered with the Texas Secretary of State and Texas Comptroller as required by law.

The Crowley EDC Board is comprised of seven board of directors who are appointed and overseen by the City Council. Of the seven board of directors, at least three must not be employed by the city or members of the City Council. Board members serve for a term of two years and maybe reappointed to succeed themselves. The board of directors is administratively assisted by the City Manager, who holds the position of executive director, the Finance Director, who holds the position of treasurer, and the City Secretary, who serves as the secretary for the board.

View Agendas & Minutes

Sales Tax Purpose

The sales tax authorized by Section 4B, provides cities with a wide range of uses. It is intended to give communities an opportunity to undertake projects that improve the quality of life for the community. Section 4B tax can be used to fund projects that are considered community development initiatives such as the purchase of land, buildings, equipment, and expenditures to improve facilities, parks, and entertainment venues.

Members & Terms

- Jesse Johnson, Place 1, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2023
- jbeck [at] ci.crowley.tx.us (Jerry Beck), Place 2, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2024
- Matt Foster, Place 3, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2023
- Carl T. Webber III, Place 4, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2024
- Johnny Shotwell, Place 5, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2023

- jltlpace [at] gmail.com (Tina Pace), Place 6, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2024
- Mike Winterbanks, Place 7, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2025

Administrative Staff

- Lori Watson, Executive Director
- Heather Gwin, Treasurer, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2023
- Carol Konhauser, Secretary, Term expires: Sept. 30, 2023

View PDF